Posted in God, inspiration, news

2015 experience at RCD Summer Camp

Last week was the final week of volunteering at the Richmond Centre for Disability Summer Camp program. Even though it is my third year volunteering at this prorgam, I still learned so many new things, met amazing staff and volunteers that are so committed to making this summer camp possible, and worked with a diversity of children that are so special and dear to my heart.

Throughout my experiences at RCD Summer camp, I believed that I have grown as an volunteer but as a person as well, and many of the longtime staff and volunteers that I worked with can probably agree. I developed my love and passion in working with people with disabilities, especially children. They are the reason I come back to volunteer every year because the kids deserve the care and love that they so often lack from the society they live in. Having Harrison in my life and seeing the support that people have given him throughout his life, volunteering at RCD summer camp is one of the ways I show my appreciation and give back to the community.

Not only has this program allowed me to make a difference in my local community, but has made a part in shaping who I am today. I learned to be creative and playful, challenged myself to work with all the different children in the camp, and remain calm to problem solve when situations get tough. From the timid, self-conscious, and quiet volunteer that entered the RCD Summer Camp program 3 years ago, I am so thankful that I had this opportunity to become a more confident, mature, and hard working volunteer. This transformation could have not happened without all the awesome children I worked with, the mentorship from all the dedicated staff, and of course my God’s orchestration throughout the whole time.

Many people at the RCD Summer Camp have noticed and commented on my diligent work as a volunteer. I take no credit for being a hard working volunteer, but really give the glory, praise, and thanks to God. In all honesty, the reason why I choose to work diligently is not for myself to gain anything, but for the testimony and glory of God. If people can see the beauty of Jesus and God’s love that I pour out, it is certainly worth to do so through my work and my life.

I also appreciate how RCD Summer Camp has implemented changes and improvements to better support the children and grow the program as a whole. It has shown how it strives to serve the community for children with disabilities and become the best it can be. It is a privilege to see the positive outcomes and this program become more successful.

I am excited to come back to RCD Summer Camp next year, to continue to make positive change and support a wonderful program for children with disabilities that allows them to feel accepted, safe, and loved. I love playing and supporting these children that deserve to have fun in their own unique ways.

Leave a comment