Posted in news

The Seizure Experience Continued

During this hot, sunny, and happy summer for Harrison and I, we are both busy: him in Youth Connections, and myself in volunteering at the Richmond Centre for Disability Summer camp. Both of us are enjoying ourselves and taking hold of this lovely summer break. Everything seems to be going fine, until last night when Harrison had a reoccurence of another seizure. This time, it lasted longer and was higher in severity.

Harrison’s seizure began with some unresponsiveness and blank stares, leading to shallow and short breaths, to eyes flickering and the next thing we know, we called emergency and rushed him to the hospital. It didn’t stop there, as his unresponsiveness lengthened to unconsciousness and additional symptons of seizures occured. In the emergency room, while the seizure was still in action, he was losing the ability to keep his respiration regular, which led to the need of a breathing tube and medications. A couple hours later, Harrison was fully sedated and in a deep sleep.

I watch the whole situation unravel in front of my eyes, yet in this frightening storm, a strong peace and rest was within me. I could stand on the firm foundational promises and comfort of Jesus Christ. My mother and I immediately prayed for Harrison and we continued to rely on God for strength and guidance.

images

Questions on what caused the seizure, and why it happened near the same time as his first seizure are still to be answered. Sadness came to me when I saw Harrison in his condition. It is hard to see a loved one struggle and weak, but thank God, that Harrison is alive and well, as he is recovering from the medications and was transferred to the Neurology ward from the ICU this morning. Although he has to stay in the hospital for further observation, doctors are planning to make a better medication plan to prevent more seizures from happening. All I know that Harrison has been and will continue to be in God’s hands.

MedicalEmergency

More updates to come on Harrison’s condition.

 

Leave a comment